How to run Hail from outside of interactive python

Hi there,

I’m new to Hail and I’m looking for some help.

Currently I have hail installed locally (using the pre-built distribution found in the Getting started page - for Spark2.1.0), and I have been able to access hail, by using the file bin/hail. This opens an interactive python session.

I’m following a pipeline setup by another group, where they are accessing hail via a bash script. I have not been able to replicate their commands:
eg hail importvcf or hail annotatevariants.

In fact I can not find documentation on these command. They look similar to the HailContext.import_vcf or VariantDataset.annotate_variants_expr commands.

Was wondering if you could help point me in the right direction. Do I need to build from the hail source to allow this version of commands to work?

Thanks for your assistance in advance.
Eddie

Hi Eddie,
Hail had a command line interface (and no Python API) for the first year of development. We removed that interface about 4 months before the release of the stable 0.1 version, so any pipelines using command line Hail are using an extremely old build.

If what you’re looking for is functionality that lets you run Hail non-interactively as a submitted job, you can do that with spark-submit and a Python script:

$ cat pipeline.py
from hail import *
hc = HailContext()

hc.read('data/1kg.vds')\
  .summarize()\
  .report()
$ spark-submit pipeline.py
Running on Apache Spark version 2.0.2
SparkUI available at http://192.168.7.31:4040
Welcome to
     __  __     <>__
    / /_/ /__  __/ /
   / __  / _ `/ / /
  /_/ /_/\_,_/_/_/   version 0.1-b151c7f
SLF4J: Failed to load class "org.slf4j.impl.StaticLoggerBinder".
SLF4J: Defaulting to no-operation (NOP) logger implementation
SLF4J: See http://www.slf4j.org/codes.html#StaticLoggerBinder for further details.
[Stage 1:>                                                          (0 + 4) / 4]
         Samples: 1000
        Variants: 10961