Hail on Databricks with Spark Cluster

I am new to Hail. I have been trying to use the hail tutorials on databricks using the spark cluster. However, when I try to import hail with import hail as * but I get the error ImportError: No module named hail. What am I doing wrong?

Hi,
Some background that will help:

Hail currently has two versions, 0.1 (the stable version, >1 year old) and 0.2 (a beta version, MUCH better!). We recommend all new users start with 0.2.

There’s a tutorial on Databricks, but it’s from 0.1 days. We haven’t yet updated it to 0.2, though that’s something we should do soon. Is it possible for you to run locally for now (on a laptop or local server)? There’s a prepackaged distribution available for download here.

Thank you! Is it necessary to have Anaconda for Python 3 because I have it for Python 2?

Hail 0.1 supported Python 2.7 (and NOT Python 3!). Hail 0.2 supports only Python 3.6 and later. Sorry to be so confusing and inconsistent!

You can use any version of Anaconda, though, because Anaconda 2 can install Python 3 into an environment and vice versa.

If you’re doing this:

conda env create -n hail -f $HAIL_HOME/python/hail/environment.yml
source activate hail

You should be fine!

Sorry for all the questions but the tutorial you sent says I am supposed to use bash commands to set the path. Is it possible to use Windows or the Anaconda prompt?

agh, we’ve tried to set it up and failed on windows in the past.

Let’s try to make it work on Databricks. I’ve emailed one of our contacts at Databricks and asked him to respond here to answer a few questions –

1. Can Databricks run Python 3.6? Hail 0.2 only supports Python 3.6 and later, due to important changes to keyword arguments.
  2. If so, Does Databricks have a Spark 2.2.0 / 2.2.1 deployment working with Py 3.6?
1 Like

hi there!