Extract transmitted/non-transmitted variants

Dear all,

I have a MatrixTable with trio WES information, and I would like to extract transmitted and non-transmitted variants. I am quite new to this, so may I get some advice as to what is the most efficient way to extract them, and in what format? Thank you very much.

Hey @MsUTR !

Have you looked at hl.trio_matrix? It converts a Matrix Table of samples into a Matrix Table of trios which is a bit easier to work with.

Once you have that representation, you can filter to entries where one parent has an alternate allele and the child does not:

mt = mt.annotate_entries(is_untransmitted=
    hl.all(
        hl.any(
            hl.all(mt.father_entry.GT.is_hom_ref(), 
                   ~mt.mother_entry.GT.is_hom_ref()),
            hl.all(~mt.father_entry.GT.is_hom_ref(),
                   mt.mother_entry.GT.is_hom_ref())
        ),
        mt.proband_entry.GT.is_hom_ref()
    )
)

Does that get you cooking? Do you have any other specific questions?

@danking Thank you very much for your response! Can I check if ~ represents something like ā€˜is notā€™?

Also, since I am going to have >1k trios, the resulting entries will be humongous. Do you have any advice on how to export those? I hope to be able to do some burden-based tests.

1 Like

Yeah ~ is the Hail way to say ā€œnotā€. Unfortunately, Python doesnā€™t let us overload the meaning of the keyword not.

Hmm. Thatā€™s a great question. I think in the 1k-10k range youā€™ll be alright with compressed CSV/TSV/VCF (use a file path with ā€œvcf.bgzā€ and Hail will auto-compress the data on export). Above When you get to 100k youā€™ll start to have trouble with a dense matrix of genotypes in VCF format (VCFs scale super-linearly), but if you drop everything other than the GTs and these transmission annotations, I think it might be OK.