Questions about optimizing Hail and Spark configs and estimating resources and runtimes

I am new to Hail and Spark and I’m struggling with some of the optimization concepts and configs.

I expect some of the runs on the cloud to be extremely expensive (with hundreds of thousands of samples and millions of variants), so I want to reach out for some help to make sure I don’t unnecessarily choose very powerful workers and end up paying thousands of dollars or choose very underpowered workers and end up with failed runs after tens of hours and still accruing costs.

I’m working with pVCFs (human data). Could you please help me understand the following? I’m really having a hard time understanding the relation between all these parameters and files.

1. Is there a relation between the number of samples/variants and memory/CPU usage and number of required nodes? For example if I go from 100,000 samples to 500,000 samples, do I necessarily need 5 times more memory and/or CPU cores?
  2. Does a higher number of nodes necessarily mean faster analyses?
  3. Do you recommend NOT going beyond a certain node number? For example, is there a top limit for the number of nodes which is known that going beyond that number wouldn’t really help in terms of speed?
  4. Is there any way at all to determine the optimal specs for the worker nodes? Does this depend on the file sizes or number of samples/variants?
  5. Is there a need or any benefit to optimizing Spark parameters such as openCostInBytes and maxPartitionBytes? How about maxFailures? If so, are there any formulas to determine how these should be exactly tuned?
  6. Are there any Spark parameters that you would suggest we pay special attention to?
  7. Do you suggest changing the number of partitions? Or would the defaults usually work well?
  8. Is there a way to determine the optimal number of nodes?

Hey @01011 !

Great questions!

1. Yes, holding the pipeline / analysis constant, they change as follows.