Table from pandas dataframe/aggregate problem

Hello, I’m new to hail and was just trying to run some simple things to get to know my way around, but I’m having an issue that I can’t seem to locate the source of, and I would love some help!

I have data from the UK Biobank and am running a demo gwas on chromosome 1 only, looking for associations with BMI.

First I imported the bgen file for chromosome 1 as follows, and that all seemed to work:

ef = ['GT', 'GP','dosage']
hl.index_bgen("ukb_imp_chr1_v3.bgen",contig_recoding={"01": "1"})
chr1 = hl.import_bgen("ukb_imp_chr1_v3.bgen", entry_fields=ef,sample_file="ukb52480_imp_chr1_v3_s487314.sample")
chr1.describe()

2019-11-27 14:54:31 Hail: INFO: Finished writing index file for file:/data/ukb_imp_chr1_v3.bgen
2019-11-27 14:54:31 Hail: INFO: Number of BGEN files indexed: 1
2019-11-27 14:54:32 Hail: INFO: Number of BGEN files parsed: 1
2019-11-27 14:54:32 Hail: INFO: Number of samples in BGEN files: 487409
2019-11-27 14:54:32 Hail: INFO: Number of variants across all BGEN files: 7402791

\----------------------------------------
Global fields:
    None
Column fields:
    's': str
Row fields:
    'locus': locus\<GRCh37>
    'alleles': array\<str>
    'rsid': str
    'varid': str
Entry fields:
    'GT': call
    'GP': array\<float64>
    'dosage': float64
Column key: ['s']
Row key: ['locus', 'alleles']

I have a big csv file which has a lot of info in it, and I only wanted the sample ID and BMI columns. I wasn’t sure how to do this with hail so I used pandas read_csv with usecols to get just the two columns I wanted. Then I used hl.Table.from_pandas to convert my dataframe into a table, and .describe gives me this, which also looks right:

----------------------------------------
Global fields:
None
Row fields:
‘s’: str
‘BMI’: float64
Key: [‘s’]

And .show() gives me the following, which also looks like what I expected:

s BMI
str float64
“1000011” 3.05e+01
“1000026” 2.40e+01
“1000032” 3.01e+01
“1000044” 2.75e+01