Working with large VCFs (e.g. from UK Biobank) is slow

Hi folks—

I am new to Hail and the UK Biobank, and I am trying to accomplish what I believe to be a pretty simple task: load a pVCF for one of the chromosome blocks and explore the data (and eventually extract variants/genotypes/patient identifiers (EIDs) within a certain region, although I haven’t gotten there yet). However, when I try to explore the data, the commands run slowly (and I bet I am also not doing it in an efficient way).

The pVCF I’m interested in is ~23 gb in size. I’m using the following code:

import hail as hl
hl.init()  
from hail.plot import show
from pprint import pprint
hl.plot.output_notebook()
mt = hl.import_vcf('file:////mnt/project/Bulk/Exome sequences/Population level exome OQFE variants, pVCF format - final release/ukb23157_c3_b3_v1.vcf.gz', force_bgz=True, reference_genome="GRCh38")

Some commands run quickly, such as

mt.describe()

However, when I try to look at the loci of the first few rows with the following code, it takes a long time (I’d be very much interested in better alternatives):

row_table = mt.rows().select()
row_table.head(4).locus.show()

I timed the second command and apparently it took 2.5 min:

I am already using what I thought would be a pretty powerful Jupyter notebook instance on DNAnexus, mem2_ssd2_x16. I don’t know whether it’s relevant, but here is information from lscpu and lsblk:

Architecture:        x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):      32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:          Little Endian
CPU(s):              16
On-line CPU(s) list: 0-15
Thread(s) per core:  2
Core(s) per socket:  8
Socket(s):           1
NUMA node(s):        1
Vendor ID:           GenuineIntel
CPU family:          6
Model:               79
Model name:          Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2686 v4 @ 2.30GHz
Stepping:            1
CPU MHz:             2300.176
BogoMIPS:            4600.15
Hypervisor vendor:   Xen
Virtualization type: full
L1d cache:           32K
L1i cache:           32K