Create plots in R based on the hail metrics

Hi there!

I’m new to hail, and I was hoping you could help me with the following:

I have installed hail to the cluster, but I cannot create/view plots there. Ideally, I would like to create plots for all the metrics that come up when I use the mt.summarize() command. How can I save this output, so that I can then read it in R?

Thank you!
Maria

Hi Maria

Thanks for reaching out to us!

If you would like to visualize QC metrics like call rates etc, I would highly recommend using the Hail plotting tools
You can either use the save button on the interactive notebook or use this discussion to guide you to it .

It would be more cost effective then to summarize what you will need in a smaller dataset/table, export it as a tsv, and import it into your R environment for further plotting with the admittedly amazing ggplot2

1 Like

Hi Kumar,

Thank you very much for your prompt response. This is very helpful. I don’t have the jupiter notebook installed, instead I use ipython. I followed the tutorial and used these instructions:
from bokeh.io import show, output_notebook
from bokeh.layouts import gridplot
output_notebook()

And then it looks like I created the plots, but I can’t find a way to save them. I looked at the discussion link you provided, but it seems that I need to install dependencies (selenium etc). Hail has been installed as a singularity image at the cluster, so I have now asked our technician to see if he can add these to the image. In the meantime, is there another way to save the plots? Also, you mentioned that I could summarize what I will need in a smaller dataset/table and export it. Could you please provide me with some example commands of how I could do this?
Thank you very much!

Hey @Maria!

Sorry you’re having trouble with Hail’s plotting libraries.