Create project VCFs from VDS

Hi there,

I am completely new to Hail and I am tasked with creating project VCFs (per chromosome) from a VDS. I have figured out how to filter the VDS by chromosome, but the main issue is the entry schema. I need a project VCF entry schema with GT, PL, and AD not LGT, LAD, LPL, and LA fields. I have tried hl.vds.to_dense_mt(vds) and hl.experimental.densify(sparse_mt), but neither of these have produced the entry field schema that I require. Does anyone know the implementation for this, or if it can even be done? Annotating entries with GT = lgt_to_gt(lgt, la) partially solves the issue, but what about the PL and AD? Are there equivalent functions for these fields? Is there a way to convert all 3 with one function?

EDIT

Hail now ships with local_to_global which can covert from a locally A-, R-, or G-indexed array into a global A-, R-, or G-indexed array.

Hey @bgorbet !

EDIT: LPL to PL conversion needs more thought… We’ll get back to you shortly.

You might find these slides on the Scalable Variant Call Representation helpful (particularly the section on local alleles). The practical answer to your question is that LPL and LAD are indexed by local alleles, so:

alleles = [A, C, T]

# 7 reads supporting A, 5 reads supporting T
AD = [7, 0, 5]
LA = [0, 2]  # the first "local allele" is alleles[0] = A
             # the second "local allele" is alleles[2] = T
LAD = [7, 5]

So you can convert like this:

def lad_to_ad(alleles, lcl, la):
    return hl.range(
        hl.len(alleles)
    ).map(
        lambda global_index: hl.or_else(lcl[la.index(global_index)], 0)
    )

def lpl_to_pl(alleles, lcl, la):
    # ???

mt = mt.annotate_entries(
    AD=lad_to_ad(mt.alleles, mt.LAD, mt.LA),
    PL=lpl_to_pl(mt.alleles, mt.LPL, mt.LA)
)

We should :100: add this to the Hail module. Apologies for its absence! The VDS and VDS combiner have taken off much faster than we anticipated!

1 Like