Merging Allele and Variant Data Question

Apologies in advance for misusing terminology, I am rather new to genetics work. My ultimate goal is to generate intermediate data so that I can perform my own GWAS with a prototype niche system I am developing that uses Hail for filtering and preprocessing. Previously I used the 1kg sample data from the GWAS tutorial and the annotations (isFemale and PurpleHair) for logistic regression with one covariant. This worked well for development purposes, but now I wish to use a lot more data to test my GWAS system. In the schema for your datasets it looks like only the allele information is available, and I could not find where the matching annotations/variant data might be.

My question is: where can I find the annotation/variant data and how do I load this data and merge it with the allele data?

Hopefully this makes sense, please let me know if I am misunderstanding something and the answer is right under my nose!

What kind of variant annotations do you need? Hail team maintains a pretty extensive set of variant annotations which you can join/annotate onto your genetic data. If you need something else, you’d want to import it as a Hail Table and then use annotate_rows to add it to your genetic data:

t = hl.import_table(...)
mt = mt.annotate_rows(new_variant_annotation = t.the_column_of_interest)

I am looking for three variants: one for logistic regression, one for linear regression, and one random variant I can use for a covariant (such as gender.) I am a little confused because I do not see variants for any of the 1kg datasets?

Hmm. I think we have a terminology misunderstanding here.

In Hail’s genetics vocabulary (which sometimes differs from mainstream genetics), the term “variant” refers to a position on the genome, the reference allele at that position, and one or more alternate alleles observed at that position. Variants are often written like this:

1:1000:A:T