Read DBNSFP file

Hey,
I’m totally new to Hail, but I hope it does what I need.
I’ve downloaded DBNSFP and just for test I’ve executed:

table = hl.import_table('/DATABASES/dbNSFP40/dbNSFP4.0a_variant.chr9', missing=".", delimiter='\t', impute=True)

then:
table.show()

at is.hail.utils.richUtils.RichIterable.foreachBetween(RichIterable.scala:12)
at is.hail.expr.ir.Pretty$.is$hail$expr$ir$Pretty$$pretty$1(Pretty.scala:408)
at is.hail.expr.ir.Pretty$$anonfun$is$hail$expr$ir$Pretty$$pretty$1$6.apply(Pretty.scala:408)
at is.hail.expr.ir.Pretty$$anonfun$is$hail$expr$ir$Pretty$$pretty$1$6.apply(Pretty.scala:408)
at is.hail.utils.richUtils.RichIterator$.foreachBetween$extension(RichIterator.scala:35)
at is.hail.utils.richUtils.RichIterable.foreachBetween(RichIterable.scala:12)
at is.hail.expr.ir.Pretty$.is$hail$expr$ir$Pretty$$pretty$1(Pretty.scala:408)
at is.hail.utils.richUtils.RichIterator$.foreachBetween$extension(RichIterator.scala:35)

Hail version: 0.2.28-61941242c15d
Error summary: StackOverflowError: null

what is wrong?

In [62]: table.count()                                                                                                                                                                                       
[Stage 42:=====================================================>(207 + 3) / 210]Out[62]: 3388601

ps. table.count() took like 10 sek, it’s too slow :frowning:

Ah, sorry about this. A few questions:

1. is this the full pipeline that fails? import/show?

2. count() is not instant because Hail executes the import to do the count. In order to process datasets too large to fit in memory, Hail streams through data, meaning that it lazily executes pipelines, possibly importing data from disk multiple times (if you count and show, for instance). How large is the DBNSFP data, and what is its schema?

Hi,

1. yes, it’s all what you need to provoke this error